Ten years after the founding of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Grand Polemarch George F. David, II (Delta Chapter-1915), third Grand Polemarch of Kappa Alpha Psi (who had been Grand Lieutenant Strategus, Editor of the Journal, Grand Vice Polemarch) and the first Grand Polemarch who had not been nurtured by the Alpha Chapter under the influence of the Founders, proposed dividing the Fraternity into supervisory districts.

The idea originated with his father who was a Presiding Elder of the A.M.E. Church and also member of Kappa Alpha Psi. Grand Polemarch David, II implemented the division of the Fraternity into three districts. Past Grand Polemarch Irven Armstrong was assigned the first; Harrison R. Duke, the second; and Harold M. Tyler, the third district. The three districts grew into four “regions”.

Of interesting note, Brother Duke was the father of Harrison R. Duke, Jr., a former member of the Detroit Alumni Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi and the grandfather of Harrison R. Duke, III, a Detroit educator and currently a member of the Fraternity.

Grand Polemarch Earl B. Dickerson changed the designation of “Region” to “Province” and “Regional Director” to “Province Polemarch” at the 15th Grand Chapter Meeting in 1925. Dr. Edward A. Carter was appointed Province Polemarch of the Great Lakes .

The Northern Province has produced three Grand Polemarchs: Ernest H. Davenport (1967-1970), Robert L. Gordon (1982-1985), and Ronald R. Young (1995-1999), four Laurel Wreath awardees, five Elder Watson Diggs awardees, one Guy L. Grant awardee and 23 Province Polemarchs. More information about the Northern Province can be found here.


Harrison R. Duke*

Dr. Edward A. Carter*

Atty. Herbert V. White*

Dr. L. L. Spann*

Fred H. Williams*

Victor LaNier Hicks*

Theodore R. Owens*

Floyd Pennick*

John W. Johnson*

A. Roscoe Tyler*

George H. Edwards*

Dr. Williams A. Sims*

James A. Jones*

Clarence Walker*

John D. Russell*

Robert L. Gordon*

Ronald R. Young*

Charles C. Smith*

E. Kenneth Glass, Jr.

 Thomas E. Howard, Jr*.

Chester Hughes, Jr.*

Harry G. Franklin

Desmon R. Daniels

Kevin D. Kyles

* Chapter Invisible