The Women of Distinction Awards Program evolved due to the success of our counterparts in the Ann Arbor-Ypsilanti-Inkster Chapter. The Women of Achievement event is entering its 5th year and we of the Detroit Alumni Chapter decided to emulate their success by creating something an event of equal success within the Metro Detroit area. The program was also created to provide a joint venture between the Detroit Alumni Chapter and our 501c3 arm to assist with funding the Kappa Detroit Foundation's scholarship program.

A decision was made to host the program during Women's History Month and recognized at NewsTalk at WCHB Radio.. We have honored five women in each of the first two years, but due to the overwhelming success of the nomination process, plans warranted increasing the number of honorees and/or giving a special honor to a deserving woman or group of women.


2016 Women of Distinction Honorees

Tonya Allen
President and CEO, Skillman Foundation

Edythe Hayden-Friley
Lifelong Educator and Board Member of the Detroit Delta Preparatory Academy for Social Justice

Faye Nelson
President, DTE Energy Foundation
Vice President, Public Affairs DTE Energy

Sheila P. Clay
President and CEO, Neighborhood Service Organization

Linda Ratliff-Watkins
Manager Ministry and Community Support and Customer Service, Detroit Chassis, LLC

Gail Perry-Mason

Penny Bailer

Kym Worthy

Terry Tolbert-Mial

Renee Fluker